DMA 17

KDEN Denver Launches Investigative Unit

The Denver Telemundo outlet is the most recent in the station group to debut the Telemundo Responde franchise. Rosy Zugasti is named consumer investigative reporter.

Telemundo-owned KDEN Denver (DMA 17) today announced the launch of a new consumer investigative unit — Telemundo Denver Responde — that will answer inquiries from viewers who fear they may have been wronged.

KDEN joins 13 Telemundo-owned stations that already feature a local Telemundo Responde consumer investigative unit that is helping to resolve consumer issues. Collectively, Telemundo Responde teams located all across the U.S. and in Puerto Rico have recovered more than $6 million for consumers.

Rosy Zugasti, a multimedia journalist, will be KDEN’s consumer investigative reporter. The first Telemundo Denver Responde report will air today Monday, June 26, during the station’s local weekday evening newscast, Noticiero Telemundo Denver at 5 and 10 p.m.

“We are thrilled that our viewers will be able to find a resourceful ally in Rosy and our new Telemundo Denver Responde unit to help them get the answers to their consumer issues once and for all,” said Andres Chaparro, KDEN president-GM. “With more than 12 years of experience in enterprise reporting, Rosy will be responsible for identifying questionable practices that could possibly affect our viewers.”

Zugasti joined KDEN in 2016 and has focused on investigative reporting. Additionally, she is the station’s early weekday newscast co-anchor at 4 and 4:30 p.m. Recognized with two Colorado Broadcaster’s Association (CBA) awards earlier this year, she has also received the “Best General Assignment Report, within 24 hours” and “Best Breaking News Coverage Under Deadline Pressure” award from the CBA. She will be responsible for investigating concerns from local viewers.

Launched in 2014, the Telemundo Responde units have recovered more than $6 million for consumers in 13 markets: Los Angeles (KVEA), New York (WNJU), Miami-Fort Lauderdale (WSCV), Houston (KTMD), Dallas-Fort Worth (KXTX), Chicago (WSNS), Harlingen (KTLM), San Antonio (KVDA), the San Francisco Bay Area (KSTS), Phoenix (KTAZ), Tucson (KHRR), Las Vegas (KBLR) and Puerto Rico (WKAQ).


Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News