RTDNA Hogan Award Goes To Harvey Nagler

Longtime CBS Radio News Vice President Harvey Nagler is the winner of the Radio Television Digital News Association’s 2014 John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes an individual’s contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press. “We’re proud to honor one of the driving forces behind radio news in America,” said Mike […]

NBC Tops Sports Emmys, Turner Honored

NBC Sports Group won six awards at Tuesday’s ceremony in New York City, while Fox, HBO Sports and the MLB Network took home five awards each. Ted Turner receives the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dick Ebersol Named Paul White Award Winner

RTDNA’s 2014 Paul White Award, which recognizes a lifetime of achievement and service to the profession of electronic journalism goes to Dick Ebersol, former longtime chairman of NBC Sports. “For more than four decades, Dick Ebersol has represented the best of broadcasting,” said Mike Cavender, executive director of RTDNA. “His mark on television is as memorable as it is indelible.”

WITI Big Winner At Wis. Broadcaster Assn. Awards

‘Orange Is The New Black’ Wins GLAAD Award

NEW YORK (AP) — GLAAD celebrates “Orange Is the New Black.”The Netflix show set in a women’s prison was named outstanding comedy series at the 25th annual GLAAD Media Awards’ New York ceremony. Cast members — including Laverne Cox, who won her own GLAAD honor at the organization’s Los Angeles awards ceremony last month — […]

TV Academy Sets College TV Awards Winners

RTDNA Announces Regional Murrow Winners

This year, RTDNA awarded 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting and Website. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism and the winners advance to the national competition.


WMAR’s Late News Strategy Wins Ratings, Awards

8 Stations Win Sigma Delta Chi Awards

The Society of Professional Journalists today announced the recipients of its annual Sigma Delta Chi Awards, which recognize exceptional professional journalism produced in 2013. Judges selected 85 honorees from nearly 1,800 submissions. The TV station winners are KNTV San Francisco; KWTX Waco, Texas; WFTS Tampa, Fla.; WVUE New Orleans; KBMT-KJAC Beaumont, Texas; KUSA Denver, KHQ Spokane, Wash; and WKBT La Crosse, Wis.

Jennifer Lopez, Laverne Cox Win GLAAD Awards

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Jennifer Lopez has added a couple of more trophies to her block. The pop star and “American Idol” judge was honored Saturday night at the 25th annual GLAAD Media Awards with the Vanguard Award, which lauds efforts to increase visibility and understanding of the gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender community. In […]

Four TV Stations Land Prestigious Peabodys

What WTVF, WBZ, KING and WVUE did to win the coveted broadcasting award.

Peabody Hands Out A Record 46 Awards

Network honors go to ABC, PBS, CBS, ESPN, AMC, HBO, BBC America and Al Jazeera America. NBC’s Tom Brokaw receives a personal citation. The awards will be presented on May 19 at a luncheon ceremony in New York.

NAB Announces Service To America Winners

TV stations to be honored for their outstanding community service are KUSA Denver; KOBI Medford, Ore.; and WCVB Boston. The ceremony will be held in Washington on June 17.

Ira Glass To Host Peabody Awards

RTDNF Honors First Amendment Winners

On Wednesday evening, the Radio Television Digital News Foundation honored Gannett’s David Lougee, NBC News’ Lester Holt, ABC News’ Robin Sproul, CBS News’ Bill Plante and The Associated Press for their commitment to press freedoms at the 24th Annual First Amendment Awards Dinner in Washington.

Judd Apatow To Receive Icon Award At PaleyFest

NAB 2014

BFA To Honor Richard Wiley With Mays Award

The former FCC Chairman and dean of Washington communications bar, will receive the Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award from the Broadcasters Foundation of America during the NAB Show next month. The award honors an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy, and entrepreneurship.

Queen Latifah To Receive 2014 Matrix Award

CNN’s Wolf Blitzer Wins NPF Taishoff Award

Garry Marshall To Receive WGAW Laurel Award

David Simon Getting WGA East Career Award

Six TV Stations Take Home DuPont Awards

Among this year’s winners are KMGH Denver, KSHB Kansas City, WBEZ Chicago, WBZ Boston, WFAA Dallas and WVUE New Orleans, plus CBS, NBC, PBS, Univision and ESPN

‘Simpsons’ Simon Tapped For Writers Guild Honor

Saldana, Wilde, Ansari To Announce Globe Noms

Four Foreign Journalists Get Press Freedom Awards

NEW YORK (AP) — Four foreign journalists were honored with Press Freedom Awards Tuesday evening recognizing their work in the face of severe reprisals, including physical threats and imprisonment. The Committee to Protect Journalists’ 2013 International Press Freedom Awards were presented to Ecuador’s Janet Hinostroza, Egypt’s Bassem Youssef, Turkey’s Nedim Sener and Vietnam’s Nguyen Van […]

Bob Iger Receives UCLA Leadership Award

Sinclair Named TVN’s Station Group Of Year

The award from TVNewsCheck recognizes the company’s deep faith in broadcasting and its status as a technology leader through its championing a new broadcast standard and new uses for TV spectrum.

Lougee, Holt, Plante Among RTNDF Honorees

The recipients of the First Amendment Awards presented annually by the Radio Television Digital News Foundation are Gannett Co.’s David Lougee, NBC News’ Lester Holt, ABC News’ Robin Sproul and the Associated Press’ Gary Pruitt. In addition, CBS News’ Bill Plante will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. The ceremony takes place in Washington on March 12, 2014.

Emmys Add Spanish-Language Categories

Spanish-language programs will take on greater prominence at the Daytime Emmys through the introduction of new categories announced today. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences also said that the Sports Emmys and News & Documentary Emmys would also be adding awards honoring Spanish-language media.

Imagen Awards: ‘Castle’ Takes Best Primetime Show

Miller, Baldridge Win Top SBE Awards

DGA Adds Internet To Awards Categories

RTDNF Distinguished Service Award To Simpson

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) today announced that Carole Simpson is the winner of the 2013 Col. Barney Oldfield Distinguished Service Award, which honors an individual who, through their own efforts, has contributed to the growth and success of RTDNF. Simpson is a former member of the Radio Television Digital News Foundation Board […]

GAB To Honor Broadcasters On June 7

The Georgia Association of Broadcasters(GAB) holds its annual Honors Night Program on Friday, June 7. GAB will give its Georgian of the Year Award to Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed. Longâ€Âtime Columbus Broadcast Executive Lee Brantley, former Atlanta Braves Announcers Pete van Wieren and the late Skip Caray will be inducted into the GAB Hall of […]

Pelley Getting Fred Friendly 1st Amendment Award

12 TV Stations Take Home SDX Awards

Among the winners of this year’s Sigma Delta Chi Awards presented by the Society of Professional Journalists are WKYC Cleveland; WDSU New Orleans; KQED San Francisco; WVUE New Orleans; KING Seattle; KCCI Des Moines, Iowa; KXAS Dallas; KRGV Harlingen, Texas ; WNET New York; KNTV San Francisco; KTUU Anchorage; and WGBH Boston.

ABC’s Terry Moran Wins WHCA Award


Ohio Army National Guard Honors WKBN


WNBC’s Beck Wins 6th Sportscaster Of The Year

PGA Announces TV Award Nominations