RTDNF Unveils First Amendment Honorees

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation has announced the winners of the 30th annual First Amendment Awards. They represent the role journalists play in local and national media to practice the First Amendment. A total of seven awards will be given, to ABC’s David Muir, 60 Minutes, NBC’s Bob Horner, Hearst’s Barbara Maushard, Telemundo’s Lori Montenegro, Sen. Richard Blumenthal and WFLA’s Steve Andrews.

NBC News Channel Creator Is Retiring

Bob Horner, who launched the network’s affiliate news service NBC News Channel nearly 30 years ago, and has run it since, is retiring On July 1. Sharon Houston, who has been with News Channel for 26 years, has been named president.