Journalism Schools: Relevance Vs. Cost

What Newsrooms Owe Student Journalists

First National News Literacy Week Set

The first National News Literacy Week, designed to raise awareness of news literacy as a fundamental life skill, will be held Jan. 27-Jan. 31. The initiative, presented by The E.W. Scripps Co. and the nonprofit News Literacy Project, will provide educators, students and the general public with easy-to-implement tips and tools to help them sort fact […]

Google News Initiative, Local Media Consortium, Local Media Association Announce 50 Scholarships

The Google News Initiative, the Local Media Consortium and the Local Media Association have teamed up to offer 50 scholarships to Elevate! 2019, the LMC and LMA’s first joint conference for the local media industry. The gathering, focused on innovation, transformation and new business models to sustain local journalism, will take place Sept. 17-19 in […]

KGO Anchor Leaving For Stanford Journalism Fellowship

Second ‘Disrupt The News’ Challenge Set

The now annual competition sponsored by TVNewsCheck and the BEA asks student journalists to reimagine news storytelling for linear TV, mobile and social with an eye toward attracting younger audiences.

Stacey Woelfel Is RJI’s New Drone Director

ASU Wins TVN/BEA’s ‘Disrupt The News’

Arizona State University took top honors in a new contest aimed at showing broadcasters how younger viewers want to see TV news presented, and will accept the award at BEA’s annual convention during the NAB Show.

Michigan Broadcasters Create John Dingell Journalism Scholarship


College Students Plan To ‘Youth-Anize’ TV News

Sponsored by TVNewsCheck and the Broadcast Education Association, the Disrupt the News challenge seeks entries that generally stick to the programming flow of a local TV newscast, but make the format more attractive to younger audiences, especially millennials.

Telemundo Expands Program To Train Journalists

Telemundo University is a hands-on training program created for undergraduate journalism students who want to pursue careers in local broadcast and serve bilingual audiences in the United States. Graduates can pursue newsroom careers at 40 NBC and Telemundo owned stations in the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

As Trump Rips Media, More Flock To Field

The Trump era, overflowing with news, and the emergence of new ways to tell stories appears to be giving a jolt to journalism schools that in recent years struggled to cope with industry contractions. Students are more fired up than ever about learning the tools of newsgathering, educators say. And at some prominent schools, there’s evidence of growing demand for journalism degrees as applications and enrollment rebound and investigative reporting classes fill up.

News Directors To Students: ‘Disrupt The News’

RTDNA members will judge entries in a TVNewsCheck–BEA challenge asking students to produce the news the way they want to see it. The winners will receive cash prizes and will be showcased at BEA’s 2019 annual convention in Las Vegas (April 6-9), which overlaps with the NAB Show (April 8-11).

Scripps Howard Foundation Funding Investigative Centers

In a move to advance high-quality enterprise journalism, the Scripps Howard Foundation today announced a $6 million investment into the creation of two centers for investigative journalism.   Arizona State University and the University of Maryland will each receive $3 million over three years from the Scripps Howard Foundation to establish a Howard Center for […]

RTDNA Announces 2018 Student Murrow Awards

Top J-Schools Voice Displeasure With Sinclair

Several of the top journalism schools in the country sent a letter to the Sinclair Broadcast Group Friday objecting to the company’s forcing dozens of its anchors to read a centrally-scripted message for a promotional video on “fake” news.

Lukasiewicz New Dean Of Hofstra’s Comm. School

Former Anchor Joie Chen Named Medill Director

RJI Names Director Of Aerial Journalism

Hearst Television Features Winners Named

Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. They were selected from 94 entries submitted from 53 schools nationwide.  The first-place winner automatically qualifies for the National Broadcast Championship which will be held in San Francisco next June. The other top winners in this competition, along with […]

RTNDF Extends Deadline For Scholarships


Let’s Welcome Experts To Our Journalism Schools

Rethinking J-Schools From The Ground Up (Pt. 1)

College To Name School For Late Gwen Ifill

BOSTON (AP) — A college in Boston will name one of its schools after the late Gwen Ifill, a co-host of PBS’s “NewsHour” and veteran journalist who moderated two vice presidential debates. Simmons College announced Tuesday the Gwen Ifill College of Media, Arts and Humanities in honor of Ifill, who graduated from the private college […]


What I’ll Tell My Journalism Students

It’s the time of year when university campuses around the country start to shake off the summer slow-mo. As the first day of classes approaches, I’ve been thinking about what I plan on saying to my journalism students about this extraordinary period in our country’s life, and how that impacts their future as journalists.

Deadline Looms For RTDNF Scholarships

Poynter, Koch Foundation Create College Journo Program

Berkeley J-School In Amazon Revenue Deal

Streaming services like Amazon Prime Video and Netflix are desperate for more content and are willing to pay for it. A new offshoot of Berkeley’s investigative journalism program is trying to take advantage of that.

Northwestern J-School Lets Accreditation Lapse

RJI Announces 2017-18 Class Of Fellows

Leadership Changes At Reynolds Journalism Institute

Willow Bay Named Dean Of USC J-School

Just under thee years after she became the director of USC Annenberg School for Journalism, Willow Bay today has shattered a glass ceiling at the SoCal institute. The former Good Morning America/Sunday co-anchor has been named the dean of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

RTDNA, NAB Partner On ‘Reporting On Race’

Sinclair Opens Diversity Scholarships Applications

Sinclair Broadcast Group is accepting applications for the second year of its Broadcast Diversity Scholarship Fund. The $500,000 scholarship fund was established in 2015 to help minority students finance undergraduate educations in broadcasting or journalism. In its inaugural year, the fund awarded $43,000 in scholarships to nine students throughout the country. In 2017 Sinclair plans […]

Finalists For Best Student Journalism Announced

Takeaways For Journalism Educators From AEJMC

DePaul Opens Center For Journalism Integrity

How To Make J-School Matter (Again)

In this excerpt from her forthcoming e-book, Amy Webb outlines a new blueprint for the future of journalism education. “We must … radically evolve journalism education for a digital environment that is in constant flux, where the means of transmission are being built and are controlled outside the core profession and where anyone can produce content that looks like — but isn’t necessarily — vetted, reported news.”


How To Make J-Schools Matter Again

Digital futurist Amy Webb turns her attention to drawing a blueprint for future journalism education, and in an extract from her forthcoming e-book, lays one out. Courses in macro and microeconomics are in her prescription, as well as the history of Silicon Valley and the philosophy of the Internet, along with two semesters of a newsroom co-op.

Columbia J-School To Cut Class Size, Jobs