LeVar Burton To Receive Inaugural Insight Award From Library Of American Broadcasting Foundation

The Insight Award recognizes an individual or organization for an outstanding artistic or journalistic work or body of work that enhances the public’s understanding of the role, operation, history or impact of media in society.

Barr, Wertlieb Emphasize Value Of Local News

The heads of Graham Media, Emily Barr, and Hearst Television, Jordan Wertlieb, yesterday agreed that local journalism, particularly that practiced by TV stations, was critical to the nation’s well-being. The two made their remarks as they were honored as Giants of Broadcasting and the Electronic Arts by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation.

Library Of American Broadcasting Foundation Announces 2020 Board Of Directors

The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) elected the following individuals to its board of directors: Heidi Raphael, chief communications officer at Beasley Media Group, has been named co-chair of the LABF, effective immediately. She will join Hubbard Radio Chief Executive Officer Ginny Morris as co-chair of the organization. Pierre Bouvard, Gary Chapman, Erica Farber, […]

NAB, LABF To Feature ‘100 Years Of Broadcast News’ Celebration At NAB Show New York

The commemoration of broadcasting’s centennial will spotlight legendary journalists and will feature Ted Koppel, Carol Marin, Soledad O’Brien and Robert Siegel. The program will also include a visit to the grounds of the old Westinghouse Electric works in Pittsburgh where the National Museum of Broadcasting has recreated the tiny rooftop shack that housed KDKA’s transmitter and studio on the night of its historic Nov. 2, 1920, broadcast of the election returns of the presidential race between Warren Harding and James Cox.

Giants Of Broadcasting Luncheon Canceled

“After careful consideration, we concluded that it would be impossible, due to the continuing coronavirus pandemic, to guarantee safety for the honorees and the several hundred people who regularly attend the Giants of Broadcasting awards luncheon,” said Virginia Hubbard Morris, LABF chair.

LABF Inducts Nine New ‘Giants’

ABC News’ Nightline co-anchor Juju Chang hosted the annual awards ceremony produced for the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation by the International Radio & Television Society Foundation. Back row, l-r: Mark Pedowitz, Alfred C. Liggins III, Larry Patrick, Peter Dunn, Mark Richer. Front row, l-r: Julie Talbott, Lester Holt, Connie Chung, Paula Kerger. (Photo: Wendy Moger-Bross)