ABC, Vice, CBS Among News Emmy Winners

The first night of the 43rd annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, honoring the winners in the News categories, was held Wednesday in New York City.

PBS Leads Documentary Emmy Tally Thanks to ‘P.O.V.,’ ‘Frontline’

PBS dominated the documentary portion of this year’s News and Documentary Emmys, landing ten awards overall — including three for POV, two for Independent Lens and two for Frontline, which are three of the public broadcaster’s long-running, signature series. Netflix followed with four wins, then Showtime with three. The documentary Emmys were awarded on Wednesday by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, the second of two individual ceremonies; categories honoring TV news were handed out on Tuesday. The full winners list is here.

ABC’s ‘The Shot: Race To The Vaccine,’ CNN’s ‘The Death Of George Floyd’ Among News Emmy Winners

Journalist Patricia Janiot welcomed viewers to the virtual ceremony on Tuesday night, soon announcing that Vice News’ American Uprising was the recipient of the evening’s first award: outstanding breaking news story in a newscast. In an additional ceremony, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will present documentary categories on Wednesday evening.

News & Documentary Emmy Nominations: ‘60 Minutes’ & ‘Vice News Tonight’ Lead Programs; PBS Tops Nets

PBS leads the nominations for the 42nd annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards, as it usually does, this year scoring 52 noms over last year’s 48. Vice News Tonight, which topped all programs with 16 noms in 2020, equaled that number this year but is tied with CBS’s 60 Minutes.

PBS, CBS Top News & Documentary Emmys

In a repeat of 2015, PBS was the single biggest winner Wednesday night, with CBS right behind in second place, to more than dwarf all other competitors at the 37th News and Documentary Emmy Awards. PBS took home 14 statuettes, while CBS received seven.

PBS And CBS Dominate News & Doc Emmys

PBS and CBS were the big winners Tuesday evening as the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences unveiled its 35th annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards. The pubcaster walked away with a leading 11 trophies, followed by the Eye with 10.

Bill Small To Receive NATAS Lifetime Honor

William J. Small, the CBS News Washington Bureau chief from 1962 to 1974, and later president of NBC News, president of United Press International, dean of Fordham’s Graduate School of Business and chairman of news and documentary at the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, will receive the Lifetime Achievement award at the 35th Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards on Sept. 30.

CBS Leads News and Doc Emmy Winners

CBS tops TV news hounds with a dozen wins at the 34th annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, presented Tuesday night at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall. Half of CBS’s wins came for 60 minutes.

CBS, PBS Lead News Emmy Nominees

Frontline Executive Producer David Fanning will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Oct. 1 event.

WFAA, WTHR Take Top News Emmy Honors

The 33rd Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards were handed out in New York City. and the regional reporting awards went to WFAA Dallas and WTHR Indianapolis. Among the networks, PBS had the most wins with nine, followed by ABC and CBS with seven; NBC got three awards.