RTDNA/F Names Dan Shelley Incoming Ex. Dir.

The veteran journalist and longtime member of the association’s board is succeeding Mike Cavender, with the official transition coming in September at the group’s Excellence in Journalism conference.

RTDNA Partners With Reel Media Group

New professional members are offered free access to talent development agency’s online training and mentorship community.


RTDNA Elections Scheduled For September


Fager, Kalb Highlight RTDNA-SPJ Conference

For the second year, RTDNA and SPJ will jointly hold a journalism conference for all media. Slated for Sept. 20-22 in Fort Lauderdale, this year’s Excellence in Journalism gathering is expected to draw up to 1,500 attendees. CBS News’ Jeff Fager is expected to speak upon receiving RTDNA’s prestigious Paul White Award. Former CBS newsman Marvin Kalb will lead a panel on the Murrow legacy. Hearst, Young and Scripps are planning meetings of news managers at the conference.

CBS’s Fager To Receive Paul White Award

Jeff Fager, chairman of CBS News and executive producer of 60 Minutes, will receive RTDNA’s highest honor during the Excellence in Journalism 2012 Conference in Fort Lauderdale this September.

Hearst Stations Take Top Murrow Awards

WCVB Boston and KCCI Des Moines, Iowa, are honored for overall excellence. The are among the 67 news organizations cited by the Radio Television Digital News Association in its annual awards competition.

Mike Cavender Named RTDNA Executive Dir.

The journalism organization says the appointment of the 25-year media veteran reaffirms its commitment to providing best practices for the journalist and advocate for journalism in Washington.

RTDNA Looking For Programs & Events Mgr.

RTDNA Accepting Entries For 2012 Murrow Awards


Relevance Is Top Priority At RTDNA Show

After teaming with the NAB for its annual conference, the Radio Television Digital News Association has a new partner this year, the Society of Professional Journalists. It’s a move RTDNA Chairman Kevin Benz says gives the group an opportunity to present a conference “that is absolutely and totally journalism-based. We believe that we will be putting on the most important journalism discussion in the country.”

RTDNA To Honor CBS’s Lara Logan

The network’s chief foreign correspondent will receive the journalism group’s John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award at its Excellence in Journalism 2011 Conference on Sept. 26.

Linda Ellerbee To Receive Paul White Award

The Nick News executive producer-writer-anchor and former ABC and NBC correspondent will receive the Radio Television Digital News Association’s highest honor for “a lifetime of hard work and leadership” at its September conference.

RTDNA Offers 1st Amend. Training For Police

In light of the recent arrest of photojournalist Phil Datz in Suffolk County, N.Y., the Radio Television Digital News Association encourages police departments around the country to maintain an open line of communication with media outlets and, with RTDNA’s assistance, educate officers on proper media practices and First Amendment rights.


Record Amount Of Local TV News Produced

For the third year in a row, the latest RTDNA/Hofstra University Annual Survey found that the average television station set a new record for the amount of local news aired. Three years ago, the average amount of weekday news was 4:36. That went up 24 minutes last year to a record 5 hours. This year, it’s up another 18 minutes to 5:18. The average network affiliate is even higher (5:36).

WTHR, WGRZ Cited For News Excellence

WTHR Indianapolis and WGRZ Buffalo won RTDNA’s Edward R. Murrow award for overall news excellence by TV stations in large markets and small markets, respectively. They were among 21 stations to win Murrows and four to win in multiple categories. For the third consecutive year, NBC News won for overall excellence in the network television grouping. In all, 62 news organizations are being honored with 95 awards.

RTDNA Presents Regional Murrow Awards

RTDNA judges awarded 600 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting and Website.