Public Broadcasting Honors Blunt, Leahy

America’s Public Television Stations recognized several public broadcasting leaders with awards Wednesday and honored two members of Congress for their advocacy on behalf of the system. Senators Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) and Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) each received the Champion of Public Broadcasting award, which recognizes political leaders and others who protect the ability of local public TV stations to provide education, public safety and civic leadership services.

Senators Call On FCC To Ease Up On JSAs

Twelve lawmakers told the FCC today they are “extremely disturbed” to learn that the FCC is conditioning grants of station transfer on broadcasters’ terminating JSAs before they would otherwise have to. The 12 said they were all supporters of the law grandfathering JSAs until 2025.