Cesar Conde, Kim Godwin, ‘Face the Nation’, Steve Kornacki Among 2021-22 RTDNF Award Honorees

RTDNF Honors Muir With Zeidenberg Award

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation held its 30th Annual First Amendment Awards last week in Washington. Other winners: 60 Minutes, NBC’s Bob Horner, Telemundo’s Lori Montenegro, Hearst Television’s Barbara Maushard, Connecticut Senator Richard Blumenthal, and WFLA Tampa, Fla., reporter Steve Andrews.


Rhodes Explains Airing Fla. Shooting Video

CBS News President David Rhodes, who was honored on Thursday night with the Radio Television Digital News Foundation’s First Amendment Service Award, said that showing cellphone video of the high school shooting was made after discussing “who are we to decide that the truth shouldn’t be seen by a wider audience? If these images can be put in appropriate context by our reporters, aren’t they important for people to see? Our job as a news organization is to reveal these events, not conceal them.”

RTDNF To Honor Rep. Eric Swalwell

‘Meet The Press’ Wins RTDNF Free Speech Prize

For more than 70 years, NBC’s Meet the Press has defended the First Amendment every Sunday by shaping the agenda in Washington, holding the powerful accountable and serving as an agent for the public’s need to know what is happening inside the political establishment. Moderated by NBC News political director Chuck Todd, Meet the Press is the […]

RTNDF Announces 1st Amendment Honorees

On March 8, the Radio Television Digital News Foundation will host its 28th annual recognition of First Amendment champions — The First Amendment Awards: Freedom Fails Without A Free Press. This year’s honorees include: NBC’s Meet the Press, MSNBC’s Joe Scarborough and Mika Brzezinski, CBS News’ David Rhodes, Gretchen Carlson and ABC News’ Robin Roberts.

Hubbard: Trump No Threat To Free Press

Picking up an RTNDF award last night, outspoken TV broadcaster Stanley S. Hubbard said that TV news organizations shouldn’t worry about Trump’s incessant media bashing. “I don’t think Trump or anyone else will take away [the First Amendment]. The president has the right to be a jerk just like anybody else.”

Matthews to Host RTDNF 1st Amendment Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) announced today that Chris Matthews of MSNBC will host its 2017 First Amendment Awards Dinner. “When it comes to American politics, Chris Matthews has seen it all, and he’s done a remarkable job of explaining it all to a generation of viewers,” said Kathy Walker, RTDNF chair. “We’re delighted […]

Thomas To Host RTDNF 1st Amendment Awards

Kirby, Sook To Be Honored By RTDNF

Wiley Rein attorney Kathleen Kirby will receive the group’s annual First Amendment Leadership Award in the broadcast and digital industries. Nexstar CEO Perry Sook will also be presented with a First Amendment Award.

Wallace To Host RTDNF 1st Amendment Awards