Society Of Professional Journalists Cancels 2024 Conference

E.W. Scripps School Of Journalism Named Historic Site In Journalism

The Society of Professional Journalists has named 1 Ohio University, 200 Schoonover Center in Athens, Ohio, as a Historic Site in Journalism. The address is the location for the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at […]

Richard Drew, Marvin Kalb, Soledad O’Brien, Dana Priest, Lesley Visser Honored As SPJ Fellows Of The Society

Benitez, Guerrero Announced As SPJ23 Keynote Speakers

The Society of Professional Journalists has announced Gio Benitez of Good Morning America Weekend Edition and Lisa Guerrero of Inside Edition as keynote speakers for the SPJ 23 Journalism Convention. The convention will […]

SPJ Announces 2022 Mark Of Excellence National Winners

The Society of Professional Journalists has named the national winners of the 2022 Mark of Excellence Awards, recognizing collegiate work published or broadcast during 2022. This year, 61 students and staff from 37 […]

SPJ Elects 2022-23 Board And Regional Coordinators

KETK And KLRT Earn Journalism Awards From The Society of Professional Journalists


See How WDSU Promoted A National Award For Breaking News

WDSU New Orleans received the 2021 Sigma Delta Chi award from the Society of Professional Journalists for its breaking news coverage of Hurricane Ida. And then it constructed a promo around that honor that makes a strong claim about the quality of its breaking news coverage.

Green, Martin, Quiñones, Ward And Whitaker Honored As SPJ Fellows

The Society of Professional Journalists is recognizing Jerry Green, Roland Martin, John Quiñones, Clarissa Ward and Bill Whitaker as Fellows of the Society, the highest professional honor awarded by SPJ, for extraordinary contribution […]


MMJs Sound Off On Safety In Town Hall

A virtual town hall discussion on Saturday hosted by the Society of Professional Journalists found a wide swath of multimedia journalists calling for more safety training and open lines of communication with newsroom leaders over well-being concerns following an MMJ being hit on-air by a car.

Rebecca Aguilar Sworn In As 105th President Of Society Of Professional Journalists

Rebecca Aguilar has became the first Latina national president of the Society of Professional Journalists in its 112-year history. She was sworn in on Sept. 4 by SPJ National President […]

SPJ, CMA, ACP Set 2022 Conference Partnership

The Society of Professional Journalists, College Media Association and Associated Collegiate Press have come to an agreement to partner for the 2022 conference. All three boards voted to approve finalizing details. “I couldn’t be more […]

SPJ Announces Sigma Delta Chi Award Winners

The Society of Professional Journalists has announced the recipients of the 2020 Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

SPJ Partners With NFOIC On FOI Bootcamp For Journalists Of Color

SPJ Announces Collegiate Journalism Mark Of Excellence Awards Winners

SPJ Decries Race-Motivated Attacks

Society of Professional Journalists Asks Biden To End Restrictions On Agency Personnel Speaking To Press

SPJ: Judge’s Order For Media To Turn Over Protest Images ‘A Dangerous Overreach’

SPJ Opposes Recommended Stars And Stripes Cuts

Applications Being Accepted For Journalists’ Emergency Fund Grants

SPJ Chooses New Executive Director

The Society of Professional Journalists today appointed veteran nonprofit leader John Shertzer is its new executive director. “SPJ is excited to welcome John and looks forward to introducing him to […]

SPJ Chapter Wants To Trademark ‘Fake News’ To Stop Trump From Using It


A Good Start To Mending Mistrust Of Media

SPJ Begins Search For Next Executive Director

The Society of Professional Journalists has retained Talbott Talent to assist with the search for SPJ’s next executive director and an on-site organizational assessment. The Indianapolis firm works exclusively with nonprofit organizations to […]


Watch Winning SPJ SDX Award Entries

Stations To Take Home Sigma Delta Chi Awards

The winners of the annual awards for exceptional professional journalism will be honored at an awards banquet June 21 at the National Press Club in Washington. Entries included submissions from television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, online news outlets and magazines. The TV station winners included KPRC, WDIO, KARE, WVUE, WTHR, KCCI, KDVR, WVUE, KNTV and WVUE.

Rod Hicks Named SPJ’s First Journalist on Call

In an effort to address the issue of dwindling trust in the media, the Society of Professional Journalists has named veteran journalist Rod Hicks as its first Journalist on Call. SPJ’s Journalist […]


SPJ’s Director: Stem Attacks On Journalists

Alison Bethel McKenzie has been a reporter and editor for big-city papers like the Boston Globe and the Detroit News, has directed Legal Times and the Nassau Guardian, and, for five years, was executive director of the Vienna-based International Press Institute. On Monday, she was named executive director of the Society of Professional Journalists. She talks about the evolving mission of the association.

Bethel McKenzie Named SPJ Executive Director

The Society of Professional Journalists today announced that veteran journalist and association leader Alison Bethel McKenzie will become its 20th executive director. “Alison is a game changer for SPJ,” said SPJ […]

SDX Awards Nominations Due Feb. 19

‘West Wing’ Cast Reunites For Benefit Reading Of ‘All The President’s Men’

Excellence in Journalism 2017 Opens In Anaheim

SPJ Executive Director Leaving After 12 Years


ASU’s ‘Cronkite News’ Named Top Newscast


ASU’s Cronkite News Named Top Newscast

7 Stations Among Sigma Delta Chi Winners

The Society of Professional Journalists announced the recipients of its 2016 Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism. TV stations honored were WJZY Charlotte, N.C.; KGAN-KFXA Cedar Rapids, Iowa; KMGH Denver; WHP Harrisburg, Pa.; KTUU Anchorage, Alaska; WCAU Philadelphia; and KPIX San Francisco.

Sigma Delta Chi Awards Nominations Due Feb. 13

David Cuillier Receives SPJ’s Highest Honor

Lynn Walsh Installed As 2016-17 SPJ President

Ohio U Named SPJ’s Outstanding Campus Chapter