NAB’s Smith To Receive Lowry Mays Award

The Broadcasters Foundation of America will honor outgoing NAB CEO Gordon Smith for his excellence in broadcasting at the Broadcasters Foundation Breakfast During the NAB Show in Las Vegas.

The Broadcasters Foundation of America has chosen Gordon Smith, former U.S. Senator and president and chief executive officer of the National Association of Broadcasters, as the recipient of this year’s Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award. The award is bestowed annually on an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy, and entrepreneurship.

Smith will be presented with the Award at the Broadcasters Foundation Annual Breakfast, 7 a.m., Tuesday, Oct. 12, in the Brahms Room of the Encore Hotel in Las Vegas, during the NAB Show.

Smith joined the National Association of Broadcasters as president and chief executive officer in November 2009. Prior to joining NAB, he served as a two-term U.S. senator from Oregon and later as senior adviser in the Washington offices of Covington & Burling.

During his tenure in the U.S. Senate, Smith’s committee assignments included the Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee, the panel that oversees all broadcast-related legislation. He also served on the Energy and Natural Resources Committee, the Finance Committee and the Foreign Relations Committee. Smith’s role on the Commerce Committee and as chairman of a Senate High Tech Task Force helped foster his interest in new media and new technology issues.

The Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award salutes its namesake and is underwritten by The Mays Family Foundation. Past recipients include Ajit Pai, Bill Clark, Eddie Fritts, Cathy Hughes, Mel Karmazin, Jeff Smulyan, Dick Wiley among others. As previously announced, the Broadcasters Foundation will present the Leadership in Broadcasting Awards during the breakfast.

Thanks to the generosity of our sponsors, the breakfast is complimentary to all in broadcasting, although registration is required. To register, broadcasters can visit To register via phone or email, and to obtain information on reserving a page in the Program Guide, please contact the Broadcasters Foundation at 212-373-8250 or [email protected].


Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

tvn-member-3011604 says:

September 3, 2021 at 1:09 pm

Is this the same Lowry Mays who singled-handedly destroyed local radio through his behemoth company, Clear Channel? An award associated with that name is no honor, it’s a disgrace.

More News