TVN Names E.W. Scripps Station Group Of The Year

The E.W. Scripps Co. is laying down foundations for longevity on multiple fronts, cultivating a strong national TV networks strategy; investing deeply in both OTA and OTT platforms; leading groundbreaking work on NextGen TV and its potential applications beyond broadcast; and never wavering in its commitment to journalism as a core company value.

TVNewsCheck today named The E.W. Scripps Co. as its Station Group of the Year for 2022, the only group to have been twice distinguished with the award (its first win was in 2017).

Led by President and CEO Adam Symson, the publicly traded company has aggressively positioned itself to evolve with fast-changing consumer habits, simultaneously strengthening its network TV business and being among the industry’s vanguard on digital platforms, including streaming. At the same time, it has taken a leading role in the cutting edge of NextGen TV applications including potential use cases and revenue streams beyond broadcast.

Amid all of these efforts, Scripps’ dedication to excellence and innovation in both local and national journalism has been foundational.

“Not many media companies enjoy the longevity that E.W. Scripps has seen since 1878, when the company launched its first newspaper, and that is all down to the company’s embrace of innovation and its bedrock dedication to impactful, quality journalism” said TVNewsCheck Editor Michael Depp. “Under Adam Symson’s leadership, Scripps has taken future-proofing to a whole new level, leading the industry on a national networks strategy while making significant investments in NextGen TV, digital and streaming.

“Equally important is how quality journalism remains an integral part of Scripps’ DNA. It is the most essential part of its consumer value proposition and a crucial hedge against widening news deserts,” Depp continued. “Scripps’ embrace of meaningful diversity, equity and inclusion efforts has only bolstered that.”

Scripps is the ninth recipient of the Station Group of the Year honor. The past honorees are Graham Media Group (2021), NBCUniversal Local (2020), Nexstar (2019), Fox Owned Stations (2018), E.W. Scripps (2017), Gray Television (2016), Raycom (2015) and Sinclair Broadcast Group (2014).


The Station Group of the Year Award will be presented at TVNewsCheck’s TV2025: Monetizing the Future event at the NAB New York Show on Oct. 19 at 11:45 a.m. Register for the event here.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply