C-SPAN Sets Board Leadership At Annual Meeting

The C-SPAN board of directors added several new members and elected Cox Communications President-CEO Pat Esser to serve as chairman at its annual meeting, held virtually in light of COVID-19 restrictions. Dave Watson, CEO of Comcast, who just completed a three-year term as C-SPAN executive committee chairman, assumes the role of vice chairman of the board.

Phil Spencer, president and CEO of Vyve Broadband, will take a seat on the board for a two-year term. Rich Fickle, president and CEO of NCTC, and cable pioneer Bob Miron, retired chairman of Advance/Newhouse Communications, were re-elected to their seats.

C-SPAN Co-CEOs Rob Kennedy and Susan Swain also will join the board, serving as senior executive directors. Brian Lamb, longtime C-SPAN chairman, remains a member of the board as founder director.

“C-SPAN is a national treasure that provides the public with unprecedented and consistent access to government proceedings and balanced coverage of political news,” said Esser, the newly elected chairman. “Because of its compelling mission, the network continues to attract the brightest and most experienced leaders in our industry, including Brian Lamb, whose vision and passion originally brought it to life. I’m proud to be part of the team of cable operators who financially support and distribute this vital network that gives government visibility to millions of Americans every day.”

The five-member executive committee is the working group of the board that provides strategic oversight and oversees the network’s finances on behalf of the full board. Currently serving on the executive committee along with Esser and Watson are Tom Rutledge, president and CEO, Charter Communications; Julie Laulis, president and CEO, Cable One; and Pat McAdaragh, president and CEO, Midco.

C-SPAN’s 17-member board of directors comprises top executives of cable operating companies. The C-SPAN board, which has had 148 cable executive members since 1978, establishes C-SPAN operating policies, but it is not involved in editorial decision-making.


Comments (0)

Leave a Reply