Hearst Team Multimedia Digital News/Enterprise Story Competition Winners Announced

Winners have been announced in the Team Multimedia Digital News/Enterprise Story Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 67 entries from 41 schools submitted in the fourth and final multimedia competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to the team from Western Kentucky UniversityGabi Broekema, Addison LeBoutillier, Brenna Pepke, Zane Meyer-Thornton and Sam Mallon. They will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “Appalachia’s Burden.”

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Syracuse UniversityAmanda Paule, Kevin Camelo, Sonny Cirasuolo, Lawry Boyer, Molly Gibbs
winning story

Third Place, $1,500 award, University of North Carolina at Chapel HillLucas Pruitt, Elizabeth Moore, Lauren Cmiel, Chris Ocana, Brook Buchanan, Yufei Dong
winning story

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Elise Mahon,  Camila Moreno, Elizabeth Sills, Angelina Katsanis, Maggie Wong, Claire Revere
winning story

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, University of OregonAaron O’Gara, Jael Calloway, Casey Winbush, Jeremy Williams, Canden Gutierrez, Maggie Salter
winning story


The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Colorado State UniversityLaura Studley, Serena Bettis, Owen Johnson, Ben Spence, Collin Sanders, Devin Cornelius, Lauryn Bolz
winning story

Seventh Place, certificate, University of OregonEden McCall, Sabrina Baker, Noah Camuso, Rachel Chambers, Ceili Cornelius, Harper Dorman Greene, Clayton Franke, Austin Johnson,  Wesley Lapointe,  Anna Mattson, Sarah Miller, Gabi Raab, Anna Scherer, Sam Scudder, Harrison Wiesert, Jeremy Williams
winning story

Eighth Place, certificate, Western Kentucky University:  Lily Thompson, Chris Kohley
winning story

Ninth Place, certificate, University of South Carolina:  Ward Jolles, Nick Sullivan
winning story

Tenth Place, certificate, University of Nevada, RenoFaith Evans, Alina Croft
winning story

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has won the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition, with the highest accumulated student points from the four multimedia competitions held this year.
They are followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Southern California; University of Oregon; University of Missouri; University of Nevada, Reno; Syracuse University; Arizona State University; San Francisco State University; Pennsylvania State University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. These awards will be presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation in San Francisco during the National Championships.

The multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video and Photography, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA; Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA; Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios, WA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 62nd year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually. 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst monthly competitions.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply