NATPE Miami To Relaunch Iris Awards

Soledad O’Brien, Mort Marcus, Ira Bernstein and Perry Sook will be honored at the 2020 show, while Nexstar CEO Perry Sook will keynote the Station Group Summit.

The National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) today announced that it will bring back the iconic IRIS Awards in January. The first honorees Lionsgate’s Debmar-Mercury co-presidents Mort Marcus and Ira Bernstein receiving the Career Achievement Award; Perry Sook, receiving the Lew Klein Leadership Award; and the weekly syndicated political show Matter of Fact with Soledad O’Brien receiving the Iris Award of Excellence.

All of the honorees will be on hand to accept their awards during the annual Station Group Summit at NATPE Miami on Jan. 22, 2020.

NATPE’s Iris Awards were created to recognize best-in-class executives, program producers, creators, talent and importantly content that makes a significant impact on the industry and our culture. In 2020 the organization once again honors recipients it feels demonstrate excellence in the world of the broadcasting industry.

“NATPE is at the center of content and it starts with the amazing programming and leadership from an emboldened station group community” said JP Bommel, president-CEO of NATPE. “Bringing back the Iris awards, once iconic to NATPE, celebrates creativity, innovation and great vision locally and globally as technology brings it home anywhere around the globe”

Perry Sook, the president-CEO of Nextstar Media Group, will also be delivering the keynote address at the Station Group Summit, which will include a special data-focused presentation from Nielsen and a session covering the innovative and technical changes happening in the industry.

NATPE will announce additional industry leaders in the coming weeks. NATPE Miami is scheduled for Jan. 21-23, 2020, at the Fontainebleau Resort in Miami.


Beyond having a Station Group Summit on Wednesday, NATPE is slated to welcome attendees from every corner of the content industry. Additional content tracks include Streaming Plus, Brands x Content, International and Unscripted.

The Iris Awards will join the 17th edition of the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Awards at NATPE, slated to honor industry luminaries and top talent in a dinner gala on Wednesday, Jan. 22, and the second annual Global TV Demand Awards, presented by Parrot Analytics, which recognize the most popular TV shows in the world on Tuesday, Jan. 21. All three will take place at the Fontaine Ballroom of the Fontainebleau Hotel

To register for NATPE, click here.

Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

RustbeltAlumnus2 says:

November 7, 2019 at 9:07 am

Is there anything more anachronistic than NATPE? I was a member in the 1970s (1976 Fontainebleau!) and 80s and remember the heyday of program directors, before the GMs stopped hiring program directors at their stations and folded the job into the duties of their operations manager. I have many fond memories of strategizing with tactics like lead-in, lead-out, hammocking, tent-poles, blocking, stunting — but really, that’s all over, now that everyone has a DVR and streaming service (or lives on a farm that has not been swallowed up yet). “TV monoculture” (look it up) is officially dead now that nearly every show every produced is on-demand somewhere. Viewers watch what they want whenever they want and the idea of PE (program executives) is about as contemporary as pet rocks. NATPE needs to go gently into that dark night.