ATSC Board Members Elected

Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee today elected three industry executives to serve on the ATSC board of directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2021.

Elected to the board for the first time is Mark Aitken of Sinclair Broadcast Group. Re-elected directors are Mark Corl of Triveni Digital and Jon Fairhurst of Samsung. Dr. Yiyan Wu, Communications Research Centre, was appointed by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as its 2021 ATSC board representative.

ATSC thanks board members who are completing their terms at the end of 2020: Craig Todd, who is retiring from Dolby, and former ATSC board chairman and retired Zenith executive Wayne Luplow, who has represented IEEE on the board this year.

“ATSC is fortunate to have directors who bring a wide range of skills, backgrounds and expertise to the board,” said ATSC President Madeleine Noland. “I feel privileged to be able to work with this outstanding group of people as we guide the organization forward in 2021, which promises to be a critical year for next-generation broadcasting in the United States and around the world,” Noland added and congratulated Aitken, Corl and Fairhurst. She also thanked Todd and Luplow “for the strong leadership and key strategic insights that have marked their tenure on the ATSC Board.”

Current board members whose terms continue in 2021 are: Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters; Jim DeChant, News-Press & Gazette Co.; Richard Friedel, Fox Television Stations; Ira Goldstone, Cobalt Digital; Dr. Jong Kim, LG Electronics; Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association; Anne Schelle, Pearl TV; Andy Scott, NCTA — The Internet and Television Association; Glenn ReitmeierGlennReitmeierTV LLC;  Dave Siegler, Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers; and Pete Sockett, Capitol Broadcasting.

Claudy is completing his current term as ATSC board chairman at year-end. The board will elect the 2021 chairman at its first meeting of the new year.


Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News