Kylee Peňa, Diane Strutner To Receive TVN’s Technology Women To Watch Awards

The recipients of TVNewsCheck’s annual Technology Women to Watch Awards — Netflix’s Kylee Peňa and Datazoom’s Diane Strutner — are building high-performance teams and breaking down data silos. They’ll participate in a webinar on April 13 and receive their awards at the NAB Show in Las Vegas on April 26.

TVNewsCheck will present its annual Technology Women to Watch Award to Kylee Peňa, manager, creative technologies program management, Netflix, and Diane Strutner, CEO and co-founder, Datazoom.

Kylee Peňa

The awards will be presented during the NAB Show on Tuesday, April 26, at 6 p.m. in the Las Vegas Convention Center. Peňa and Strutner will also join this year’s other Women in Technology honorees in a webinar on April 13 at 1 p.m. ET examining the industry’s technology future and the challenges stretching out before it.

“Kylee’s passion for managing technology projects and building high-performance teams while advocating for diversity in post production have identified you as a rising talent in the media and entertainment industry,” said Kathy Haley, TVNewsCheck publisher and co-founder. “In addition to developing, growing and now leading a program management team for creative technologies at Netflix, she founded a nonprofit, the Second Act Foundation, helping women over 30 transition to STEAM careers.”

Diane Strutner

Haley said of Strutner: “Her vision of a platform that would collect, standardize, correlate and align the data flowing from the many different tools tracking what’s happening on streaming services has opened new visibility for executives and managers into how their channels are performing technically, operationally and financially. By imagining how to break down data silos, she has broken new ground in the advancement of the business of connected TV.”


Recognizing women who have contributed significantly to advancing their industry technologically — or who show great promise of doing so — the Women in Technology Awards support the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation’s Technology Apprentice Program, which provides training and internships to women or people of color.

Register here to attend the 12th annual Women in Technology Awards Presentation Ceremony and Reception at NAB Show in Las Vegas.

Register here for the TVNewsCheck webinar featuring all six 2022 honorees offering their thoughts and predictions about the year’s most important technology trends.

Previous Technology Women to Watch Award honorees include:

  • Rose Adkins Hulse, founder and CEO of ScreenHits TV
  • Yushi Xu, senior architect, FreeWheel
  • Sally Hattori, executive director, product development at Walt Disney Studio’s StudioLAB
  • Kate Ketcham, director, Media Composer product management, Avid
  • Deb Grivois, director of engineering, WLWT Cincinnati
  • Katy Noland, senior R&D technologist, BBC
  • Larissa Goerner, director of advanced live solutions, Grass Valley
  • Deborah Adeogba, now senior media experience manager, Microsoft
  • Jennifer Leung, now senior director at AppD Labs and Emerging Tech
  • Anne Marie Rohaly, director of accessibility policy and standards, Microsoft
  • Tania Paz, VP of digital media operations and technology, Telemundo
  • Yvonne Thomas, now strategic technologist, Digital TV Group
  • Sara Kudrle, now marketing director, PESA and VP education, SMPTE
  • Alison Neplokh, now VP innovation and strategy, NAB

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply