Stacey Decker Named CPB SVP Innovation And System Strategies

Stacey Decker

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting today named Stacey Decker senior vice president of innovation and system strategies, effective Sept. 13. In this new position, he will be responsible for the development and implementation of a multi-faceted strategy to advance innovation and sustainability of public media through accelerating public media’s digital transformation.

“Stacey is a strategic and creative thinker with more than two decades of innovative leadership in public media,” said Patricia Harrison, president and CEO of CPB. “He is a technology leader whose experience with broadcast technology, navigation, and communications systems was enhanced through five years of service in the U.S. Coast Guard. He will help CPB develop and create strategies and services to assist the public media industry in many areas, including implementing and leveraging the new Next Gen TV broadcast standard.”

For the last two years, Decker has served as president of Public Media Management, a media management and content distribution service, and chief technology officer at Signal Infrastructure Group, which builds and operates the physical and digital infrastructure to enable all broadcasters — commercial and public — to leverage the full power and revenue opportunities of NextGen TV, ATSC 3.0.“I am proud to join the dynamic team at CPB,” Decker said. “I have been so fortunate to work with amazing people during my time in the media industry. Now I look forward to using the knowledge and experience I have gained throughout my career to help keep public media thriving.”

From 2013 to 2019, Decker was chief technology officer for WGBH Boston, playing a key role in evolving the organization’s strategic planning, production, audience development, and technology direction. For 11 years before that, Decker held technology leadership roles for Nebraska Educational Telecommunication and South Dakota Public Broadcasting. He also served on the PBS Technical Advisory Committee from 2010 to 2016.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply