Alliance For Women In Media Presents Gracies

At the 42nd Annual Gracie Awards presentation, honorees in attendance included This is Us cast members (l-r) Susan Kelechi-Watson, Chrissy Metz and Mandy Moore, in addition to Rachel Bloom and Dove Cameron. Also, Debbie Allen honored with Lifetime Achievement Award. (Photo: Getty on behalf of the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation)

Tuesday night, the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF) handed out the 42ndAnnual Gracie Awards to a packed house at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The Gracie Awards, which each year celebrate female luminaries on and off the screen for outstanding achievements across radio, television, cable and interactive media, hosted award recipients such as Lifetime Achievement Honoree Debbie Allen; Rachel Bloom; This is Us cast members Mandy Moore, Chrissy Metzand Susan Kelechi-Watson; as well as Natalie Morales, Lisa Ling, Dove Cameron, Garrett Clayton and Lynn Whitfield. Presenters and additional guests included Jesse Williams, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Laura Ling, Leigh-Allyn Baker, Nischelle Turner, Debbie Matenopoulos and Vivian Nixon.

This year’s social ambassador was actress Jillian Rose Reed and the ceremony was executive produced by Vicangelo Bulluck. The complete list of previously announced honorees can be found here.

Highlights from the show included:

  • Actress Donna Lynne Champlin received the first award of the evening for her supporting role in The CW’s Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and gave an acceptance speech that had co-star Rachel Bloom in the audience in tears. “I would like to accept this award on behalf of all the women who have been told they’re too fat, too old, or too ugly to be on television,” said Lynne Champlin as she received a standing ovation.
  • The Gracie Awards featured some sisterly love on stage as Laura Ling presented her sister Lisa Ling and Amy Bucher, executive producer of CNN’s This Is Life with Lisa Ling, with the award for Best Non-Fiction or Reality. “We feel so privileged to have the opportunity to be welcomed into people’s lives, to allow us to come into family’s living rooms and tell stories,” said Lisa. “It’s a responsibility we take very seriously.”
  • Co-creator, writer and star of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Rachel Bloom presented the award for Best Drama to the cast of NBC’s This Is Us, which was accepted by Mandy Moore, Chrissy Metz, Susan Kelechi Watson, and Executive Producer Jess Rosenthal.
  • Debbie Allen was presented with the night’s top honor, the Gracies Lifetime Achievement Award, by actor Jesse Williams and daughter Vivian Nixon. “This is a time for women to speak up loudly and to stand tall. I truly am honored as is my family and my own tribe. Thank you for continuing to inspire us to honor ourselves,” said Allen.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply