Hearst Television Features Winners Named

Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. They were selected from 94 entries submitted from 53 schools nationwide. 

The first-place winner automatically qualifies for the National Broadcast Championship which will be held in San Francisco next June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists in the next television competition will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Four finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the championship, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists. 
First place has been awarded to Brandon Etheredge from Auburn University. He wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the championship.
The finalists:

  • $2,000 award,  Eytan Wallace, University of Southern California
  • Third Place, $1,500 award,  Lauren Barnas, University of Missouri 
  • Fourth Place, $1,000 award,  Dylan Monson, South Dakota State University
  • Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Jessica Coombs, Brigham Young University   
  • Sixth Place, certificate,  Anne Marie Hagerty, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.
The seventh through tenth place finalists are:

  • Seventh Place, certificate, Chloe Cullen, Pennsylvania State University
  • Eighth Place, certificate, Alexa Lorenzo, University of Florida
  • Ninth Place, certificate, Jackson Kurtz, University of Kansas
  • Tenth Place, certificate, Aley Davis, Brigham Young University

Brigham Young University is in first place in the intercollegiate broadcast competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first television competition.
It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Southern California (tie); University of Missouri; Auburn University; University of Florida (tie); Pennsylvania State University (tie); South Dakota State University; University of Kansas; San Francisco State University; Temple University. The final intercollegiate broadcast winners are announced after the completion of the radio competition and the second television competition.  

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.
The broadcast judges are: Julie Chin, news director, KNX-AM Los Angeles; Lloyd Siegel, former VP of news partnerships, NBC News, New York;  and Fred Young, retired SVP of news, Hearst Television, Yardley, Pa.
The 58th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.  The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. One hundred and five universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.



Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News