IBA Names Larry Wert Broadcaster Of The Year

Tribune Broadcasting President Larry Wert has been named “Broadcaster of the Year” by the Illinois Broadcasters Association. Additionally, Tribune’s WGN-AM was named Chicago Market Station of the Year, the station’s tenth consecutive year of honor by the IBA.

Wert became the Illinois Broadcasters Association’s 32nd Vincent T. Wasilewski “Broadcaster of the Year” as part of the IBA’s Silver Dome Awards Gala. The award honors Illinois broadcasters for excellence with their Illinois station(s) and within the broadcast industry as a whole, for the respect they receive from their peers both on a local market and a national level.

“The IBA is an advocate for broadcasters and provides information and educational opportunities for the industry, I am honored to be recognized by the IBA for my work in broadcasting,” said Wert.

As Tribune Broadcasting president, Wert is responsible for overseeing the strategy and day-to-day activities of Tribune Media Co.’s 42 owned or operated television stations, their related websites and the company’s WGN-AM Chicago.

Wert, who has spent nearly 40 years in broadcasting, serves on the NAB TV board of directors and the CBS board of governors. Wert is also very involved in the Chicago community as the chairman of the Museum of Broadcast Communications, and serves on the Board of Directors for several charities.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News