NABEF Lists Freedom Of Speech PSA Winners

The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA) announced today the winners of their annual Freedom of Speech public service announcement (PSA) competition for college communications students. The first-place winners in the radio and television categories will be recognized at the Society of Professional Journalists’ (SPJ) annual conference on Monday, Sept. 26, in New Orleans.

“Freedom of speech is a principle that provides the very foundation of our broadcast industry,” said NABEF President Marcellus Alexander. “The winning students in this competition effectively and creatively conveyed what it means to them.”

“We are honored to partner with NABEF and the McCormick Foundation to highlight these quality student productions,” said Heather Birks, executive director of BEA. “These students were selected from a talented pool of entries, and they all showcase their insight and creativity regarding Freedom of Speech.”

More than 100 communications students from across the country competed in the Freedom of Speech PSA contest calling for 30-second spots that creatively address “What freedom of speech means to me.” The winning entries are:

Television Category
1st Place: Jenna James, Ball State University
2nd Place: Sean-Michael Hoban, East Carolina University
3rd Place: Jason Moore, California State University Northridge

Radio Category
1st Place: Caitlin Johnson, Rowan University
2nd Place: Saraya Wintersmith, Howard University
3rd place: Mason Alexander, The Art Institute of Atlanta


The Freedom of Speech PSA contest was presented by NABEF and BEA, with major funding from the McCormick Foundation. Winning PSAs may be viewed at and will be available for download Friday, July 15, 2011 on the NAB Spot Center.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News