UGA’s Peabody Awards Issues Call For Entries

The George Foster Peabody Awards’ 70th annual search for excellence in electronic media has begun.

More than 100,000 “Call for Entries” alerts have been mailed worldwide, supplemented by advertising in media-industry publications. Original broadcast, cablecast and webcast programs presented in the calendar year 2010 are eligible. The entry deadline is Friday, Jan. 14, 2011. Entrants may apply online at

The Peabody Awards, established in 1940 and administered by UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, are the oldest honor in television and radio. Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by television and radio stations, networks, producing organizations, individuals and the Internet.

The 69th Annual Peabody Awards were emceed by Diane Sawyer, anchor of ABC’s World News, at New York’s Waldorf-Astroria Hotel in May.

The Peabody Awards are unique in that there are no categories for entry or nominations. Entries are judged by a 16-member board, which includes television critics, industry practitioners, scholars and experts in culture and fine arts.

For further information regarding the Peabody Awards or to request an entry form, call 706-542-3787, e-mail the Peabody office at [email protected], or visit the Peabody website at


Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News