Wis. Broadcasters to Air 2 Gubernatorial Debates

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association will sponsor two one-hour gubernatorial debates between Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker and challenger Mary Burke. The first will be held on Oct. 10 in the La Crosse-Eau Claire market, wtihg the second slated for Oct. 17 in Milwaukee. Both debates will be offered statewide to Wisconsin television/radio stations for live broadcast.

“The WBA Foundation is honored to continue the tradition of these important debates as part of the civic and political process,” said WBAF President-CEO Michelle Vetterkind.

The moderators and panelists were agreed to by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association members in each of the two media markets.  Member TV and radio stations will follow the debate format developed by the WBAF as they finalize the mechanics of producing the debates.

“Political debates provide excellent opportunities for voters to hear directly from the candidates, and I am looking forward to holding spirited and thoughtful discussions regarding the future of Wisconsin,” said Gov. Scott Walker.

“Thank you to WBAF for hosting these important debates about the future of our state. I look forward to a robust discussion about the challenges we face, and how Wisconsin can do better,” said Mary Burke.

The details for each of the debates:


La Crosse-Eau Claire

Date: Oct. 10, 7 p.m.

Location: Mayo Auditorium Eau Claire

La Crosse/Eau Claire Market Debate Coordinator: Anne Paape, Station Manager/News Director WKBT-TV, La Crosse ([email protected] or 608-782-4678).

La Crosse/Eau Claire Market Moderator: Jill Geisler, longtime WI news pro, WBA Hall of Fame member, author and Poynter Institute Senior Faculty, Leadership and Management

La Crosse/Eau Claire Market Panelists: Judy Clark, WEAU TV-Eau Claire; Andrea Albers, WQOW/WXOW TV-Eau Claire; Mike Thompson, WKBT TV-La Crosse; and Shawn Johnson, Wisconsin Public Radio


Date: Oct. 17, 7 p.m.

Location: Milwaukee Public Television (MPTV) studios

Milwaukee  Market Debate Coordinator: Bill Hurwitz, VP/GM Milwaukee Radio Alliance ([email protected]  or 414-771-1021 ).

Milwaukee Market Moderator: Erin Toner from WUWM-FM and a frequent moderator on NPR;

Milwaukee Market Panelists: Charles Benson, WTMJ-TV; Ted Perry, WITI-TV; Mike Strehlow, WDJT-TV; and Kent Wainscott, WISN-TV.

WBA Foundation President-CEO Michelle Vetterkind will provide the opening and closing remarks for both debates.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply