Library of American Broadcasting Foundation’s Giants Of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts Celebrates Industry Trailblazers

Among those on hand in New York on Monday for the annual event were, standing (l-r): JuJu Chang, Jack Goodman (LABF co-chair), Adam Symson, Bob Pittman, Pete Williams, Sean McManus, Joyce Tudryn (IRTS president-CEO) Heidi Raphael (LABF co-chair) and Fareed Zakaria. Sitting: Alex Prud’homme, Deb McDermott, S. Epatha Merkerson and Bud Walters. (Photo by Wendy Moger-Bross)

Barr, Wertlieb Emphasize Value Of Local News

The heads of Graham Media, Emily Barr, and Hearst Television, Jordan Wertlieb, yesterday agreed that local journalism, particularly that practiced by TV stations, was critical to the nation’s well-being. The two made their remarks as they were honored as Giants of Broadcasting and the Electronic Arts by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation.

LABF Inducts Nine New ‘Giants’

ABC News’ Nightline co-anchor Juju Chang hosted the annual awards ceremony produced for the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation by the International Radio & Television Society Foundation. Back row, l-r: Mark Pedowitz, Alfred C. Liggins III, Larry Patrick, Peter Dunn, Mark Richer. Front row, l-r: Julie Talbott, Lester Holt, Connie Chung, Paula Kerger. (Photo: Wendy Moger-Bross)