Balloting Opens For 2024 Women In Technology Awards

Nominations for TVNewsCheck’s 14th annual Women in Technology Awards may now be submitted in three categories: The Women in Technology Leadership Award, The Women in Technology Futurist Award and the Technology Women to Watch Award. The presentation ceremony and reception will take place at NAB Show in Las Vegas. Deadline for ballot submissions is Nov. 10, 2023. The program benefits the NAB Leadership Foundation’s Technology Apprenticeship Program. (Pictured: Anne Schelle, who, in April 2023, received the program's highest honor, the Women in Technology Leadership Award.)

TVNewsCheck has opened the balloting season for its 2024 Women in Technology Awards. 

Presented each year at the National Association of Broadcasters convention, the Women in Technology Awards are presented in three categories.

  • The Women in Technology Leadership Award recognizes women who have contributed significantly toward advancing their industry technologically.
  • The Women in Technology Futurist Award recognizes women who have pioneered new technologies or significantly influenced the development of new media technology.
  • The Technology Women to Watch Awards shine a spotlight on women in media and entertainment who show significant promise of advancing their industry technologically.

All three awards support the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation’s Technology Apprenticeship Program, a six-month paid, educational, hands-on training program designed to train, inform and recruit a diverse technology workforce. This program bridges the gap between emerging technology and engineering needs within the broadcast industry.

Kathy Haley, Co-Founder & Publisher NewsCheckMedia LLC

Kathy Haley, co-founder and publisher of NewsCheckMedia, said: “TVNewsCheck’s Women in Technology Awards turn a spotlight on technologists who are not only over-achievers, but who are able to articulate to the industry and their companies how emerging technology will influence workflows, revenue and audience growth and new possibilities for connecting with consumers. We look forward to recognizing another terrific class in 2024.” 

The 14th annual Women in Technology Awards will be presented at the Las Vegas Convention Center, during the 2024 NAB Show. 


To nominate yourself or a colleague for the 2024 Women in Technology Awards, please download  ballots here. 

Learn more about the Women in Technology Awards program here.

Past Recipients of the Women in Technology Leadership Award: 

  • Anne Schelle, Managing Director, Pearl TV 
  • Shari Berg, president of Fox Weather and COO, news and operations, Fox Television Stations. 
  • Judy Parnall, head of standards and industry, BBC
  • Marcy Lefkovitz, VP, technology and workflow strategy, The Walt Disney Co.
  • Barbara Lange, founder, Kibo121 
  • Lisa Pedrogo, VP of engineering and strategic initiatives, WarnerMedia
  • Tish Graham, former VP of broadcast technology at ABC Owned Television Stations
  • Diane Tryneski, now board member and advisor to several digital technology companies
  • Glodina Connan-Lostanlen, now chief sales officer, Imagine Communications
  • Michelle Munson, now founder, Eluvio
  • Renu Thomas, then EVP of media operations, technology and IT at Disney ABC Television Group
  • Darcy Antonellis, now executive advisor, Amdocs
  • Wendy Aylsworth, now CEO, Walden Pond
  • Cindy Hutter-Cavell, senior engineer and practice manager, Cavell Mertz & Associates
  • Andrea Berry, now EVP operations & technology, Telemundo Enterprises and LATAM

Past Recipients of the Women in Technology Futurist Award:

  • Susana Brady, SVP Worldwide Sales & Marketing, Cobalt Digital and Chair, RIST Forum
  • Chrystelle Le Gall, Lead Cloud Solutions Architect, Ateme 
  • Kelly Abcarian executive vice president for measurement and impact at NBCU
  • Anupama Anthantharaman, vice president of technology for Interra Systems
  • Annie Chang, VP creative technologies, Universal Pictures
  • Janet Gardner, president, Perspective Media Group
  • Jade Kurian, co-founder and COO, latakoo
  • Madeleine Noland, president, ATSC
  • Abby Auerbach, EVP and chief communications officer, Television Bureau of Advertising

Past Recipients of the Technology Women to Watch Award:

  • Hannah Barnhardt, Managing Partner, TMT Insights Group 
  • Nadia Khan, CMO, LTN 
  • Emily Sone, VP Digital Operations, Fox Television Stations 
  • Kylee Pena, manager, Creative Technologies Program Management, Netflix
  • Diane Strutner, founder & CEO of Datazoom 
  • Rose Adkins Hulse, founder and CEO of ScreenHits TV
  • Yushi Xu, senior architect, FreeWheel
  • Sally Hattori, executive director, product development at Walt Disney Studio’s StudioLAB
  • Kate Ketcham, director, Media Composer product management, Avid
  • Deb Grivois, director of engineering, WLWT Cincinnati
  • Katy Noland, senior R&D technologist, BBC
  • Larissa Goerner, director of advanced live solutions, Grass Valley
  • Deborah Adeogba, now senior media experience manager, Microsoft
  • Jennifer Leung, now senior director at AppD Labs and Emerging Tech
  • Anne Marie Rohaly, director of accessibility policy and standards, Microsoft
  • Tania Paz, VP of digital media operations and technology, Telemundo
  • Yvonne Thomas, now strategic technologist, Digital TV Grou
  • Sara Kudrle, now marketing manager, Americas, Riedel 
  • Alison Neplokh, now VP innovation and strategy, NAB

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply