NATPE Adds Four New Members To Its Board

The new additions represent broadcast/networks and OTT/platforms, making these categories now the second largest groups of representation on the board. The group also forms the NXTGN Advisory Board, made up of top executives focused on emerging media and new business models.


The National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) has elected four new board members

Cindy Holland, Netflix VP for original content VP; Pearlena Igbokwe, Universal Television president; Mina Lefevre, Facebook head of development; and Sharon Vuong , CBS SSVP of alternative programming.

The appointments are effective immediately and were announced by Andy Kaplan, NATPE board chairman, and JP Bommel, the group’s president-CEO. The new appointees will serve two-year terms.

Representing broadcast and digital streaming services of the business, these new board members round out the board’s lineup of content industry executives to position NATPE for continued evolution. With four new members representing broadcast/networks and OTT/platforms, these categories are now the second largest groups of representation on the board.

Cindy Holland is the VP for original content at Netflix where she is responsible for acquiring and launching original series for the over 109 million users.

Pearlena Igbokwe was named presidentofUniversal Television in June 2016 and oversees creative programming for one of the country’s largest and most successful production companies.


Mina Lefevre is head of development and programming for Facebook’s original content initiative. She oversees the development and production of scripted and unscripted shows for Watch on Facebook.

Sharon Vuong is the SVP of alternative programming at CBS Entertainment. Vuong oversees development of new alternative programs, including reality series, game shows and other non-scripted programming.

“We are delighted to welcome such a diverse group of leaders who are helping to redefine today’s changing television landscape. At NATPE, we strive to represent the future of the industry and are gratified that our board is comprised of executives at the center of these evolutionary shifts,” said Kaplan.

NATPE also announced the formation of a new NXTGN (Next Gen) Advisory Board, populated by a group of top executives across digital media with the mission to identify new trends in the media and entertainment content industry.

The NXTGN Advisory Board will be year-round through events, meetings and educational opportunities, leading a dialogue with content creators, brands, advertisers, distributors and buyers. It will focus on the emergence of new platforms and business models in TV, OTT, digital, mobile, gaming, AR, VR and AI.

“Our goal at NATPE is to be at the forefront of our constantly evolving business, lead content ecosystem dialogue, and create marketplace evolution that breeds new business opportunities. The mission of the NATPE NXTGN Advisory Board is to impact the business and creative communities, help navigate content across all platforms in creation, distribution and acquisition,” said Bommel. “Creating an excellent resource like NXTGN Advisory Board is just one piece of the puzzle and we are excited to reveal more plans.”

Inaugural NATPE NXTGN Advisory Board Members:

  • Eric Berger, EVP, Digital, Sony Pictures Television Networks and GM, Crackle
  • Nick Buzzell, CEO, NBTV Studios (chair)
  • Susan Brooks, Founder & Owner, Forefront Media Strategies
  • Dan Donahue, COO, All3Media America
  • Peter Levin, President of Interactive Ventures & Games, Lionsgate
  • Jay Levine, EVP, Warner Bros. Digital Networks
  • Peter Naylor, SVP, Advertising Sales, Hulu
  • Kate Robinson, SVP, Business Development, Bustle
  • Vivian Yin, CEO, FremantleMedia China

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News