Senate Commerce OKs FCC Nominees

The Senate Commerce Committee approved the nominations of Jessica Rosenworcel and Ajit Varadaraj Pai for to the FCC in a voice vote Thursday morning, but their ultimate confirmation still faces obstacles because of a dispute between the FCC and Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa).

Grassley Poses Roadblock To FCC Nominees

FCC nominees Jessica Rosenworcel and Ajit Pai received broad bipartisan support — but some tough questions — from Senate Commerce Committee members during a confirmation hearing on Wednesday. Panel Chairman Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) brushed aside a threat by Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), renewed yesterday, to block the nominees if they reach the floor.

Senate Sets FCC Nominations Hearing

The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation announced today a hearing to consider the nominations to the FCC of Jessica Rosenworcel and Ajit Varadaraj Pai. The hearing is scheduled for 2:30 p.m., Wednesday, Nov. 30, in room 253 of the Russell Senate Office Building in Washington. “I am pleased to announce this important step in the confirmation process,” said Committee Chairman Sen. John D. Rockefeller IV.  “These are exceptional nominees who will be effective advocates at the FCC. As we consider these nominations, I remain committed to working with my colleagues to address any concerns and move these nominations to a full Senate confirmation as expeditiously as possible.”

Obama Nominates Two For FCC Posts

Ending months of speculation in Washington telecom circles, President Barack Obama formally nominated Jessica Rosenworcel and Ajit Varadaraj Pai as FCC commissioners Monday night.