Barrett, Scarborough Among LAB Giants

The Library of American Broadcasting’s 14th Giants of Broadcasting honorees include Pablo Raul Alarcon Sr. and Raul Alarcon Jr. of the Spanish Broadcasting System; David Barrett, Hearst Television; Chuck Scarborough, WNBC New York; Fred Silverman, former network chief and now head of the Fred Silverman Co.; Peter Smyth, Greater Media; Judy Woodruff and Gwen Ifill of PBS NewsHour; plus a special tribute to Sylvester L. “Pat” Weaver. The Giants annual awards ceremony will be held Thursday, Oct. 16, at New York’s Gotham Hall. Reservations may be arranged through Jessica Wolin at 212-685-4233 or [email protected].

Diller, Sweeney, Wiley, Among LAB Giants

Barry DillerAnne SweeneyThe Library of American Broadcasting’s 11th annual Giants of Broadcasting awards ceremony and luncheon is set for New York on Wednesday, Oct.16. Awards go to Anne Sweeney, Alex Trebek, Barry Diller, Morley Safer, Dick Cavett, Jeff Smulyan, Robert L. Johnson, David E. Kelley, Richard E. Wiley, Richard Leibner and Carole Cooper.

LAB Celebrates More Giants Of Broadcasting


The Library of American Broadcasting presented its10th Annual Giants of Broadcasting honors at a ceremony and luncheon in New York. The event served as a tribute to those individuals who have played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts. Honored this year were Sir Howard Stringer, Ted Turner, Norman Lear, George Beasley, Erica Farber, Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Andy Rooney, Don Cornelius and Dinah Shore.

Turner, Lear, Stringer Among LAB Giants

Ted TurnerThe Library of American Broadcasting’s 10th annual Giants of Broadcasting awards ceremony and luncheon is set for New York on Thursday, Oct.18. Other honorees to be feted include George Beasley, Erica Farber, Andy Rooney, Don Cornelius, Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer.