TVN Honors Kelly Abcarian And Anupama Anantharaman With 2022 Women In Technology Futurist Awards

The recipients of TVNewsCheck’s annual Women in Technology Futurist Award — NBCUniversal’s Kelly Abcarian and Interra Systems’ Anupama Anantharaman — have been at the forefront of next-generation advertising currency and video conferencing, respectively. They’ll participate in a webinar on April 13 and receive their awards at the NAB Show in Las Vegas on April 26.

TVNewsCheck will present its annual Women in Technology Futurist Award to Kelly Abcarian, EVP of measurement and impact at NBCUniversal, and Anupama Anantharaman, VP product management at Interra Systems.

The award will be presented during the NAB Show on Tuesday, April 26, at 6 p.m. in the Las Vegas Convention Center. Abcarian and Anantharaman will also join this year’s other Women in Technology honorees in a webinar on April 13 at 1 p.m. ET examining the industry’s technology future and the challenges stretching out before it.

Kelly Abcarian

“By piloting NBCU’s effort to enhance cross-platform audience measurement and advertising impact data capabilities, Kelly Abcarian is laying the groundwork for a ‘multi-currency’ future for media companies and their partners in advertising,” Kathy Haley, TVNewsCheck publisher and co-founder, said. “Her vision of ‘measurement independence,’ permitting companies to assemble and transact with their own collection of data sources, moves the industry toward an enhanced ability to measure ROI and fine-tune the effectiveness of future campaigns.”

Of Anupama Anantharaman, Haley said: “The role she played, early in her career, in leading the team that created the first LAN-based video conferencing system for virtual ‘face to face’ meetings over the internet set her apart as an innovator. Her vision for a next-generation video monitoring solution gave rise to development of the media and entertainment industry’s first software defined content monitoring platform. And her work creating a cloud-based media validation solution for one of the global streaming services created a highly efficient and modern approach to validating large libraries of video assets.”

Anupama Anantharaman

The Women in Technology Futurist Awards recognize women who have pioneered new technologies or who, although not working in the sciences, have significantly influenced the development of media industry technology. The award supports the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation’s Technology Apprenticeship Program, which places graduating engineers, who are women or people of color, in broadcast industry internships.


Register here to attend the 12th annual Women in Technology Awards Presentation Ceremony and Reception at NAB Show in Las Vegas.

Register here for the TVNewsCheck webinar featuring all six 2022 honorees offering their thoughts and predictions about this year’s most important technology trends.

Previous Women in Technology Futurist Award honorees:

  • Annie Chang, VP creative technologies, Universal Pictures
  • Janet Gardner, president, Perspective Media Group
  • Jade Kurian, co-founder and COO, latakoo
  • Madeleine Noland, president, ATSC
  • Abby Auerbach, EVP and chief communications officer, Television Bureau of Advertising

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply