NBCU’s Reitmeier Named ATSC Board Chairman

Glenn Reitmeier, NBCUniversal’s SVP of advanced technology, has been named chairman of the Advanced Television Systems Committee. He replaces John Godfrey, Samsung  VP of government and public affairs.

Reitmeir, who served on the board from 2004 to 2009, was instrumental in leading NBCU’s technical efforts related to industry standards, government policy, advanced engineering and anti-piracy technical operations.

“Glenn has been a key contributor to the ATSC for many years and a great leader of strategic planning efforts for the organization,” Mark Richer, STSC president, said in a statement.

In addition to also being a board member of the North American Broadcasters Association, Reitmeier is a fellow of the Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers and is a recipient of the Society’s Progress Medal and the James A. Leitch Gold Medal for his contribution and work in digital television, digital media and digital convergence.

The following will serve with Reitmeir on the ATSC Board for 2013: Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics; Richer Friedel, Fox; Kevin Gage, NAB; Ira Goldstone, Univision; Brett Jenkins, LIN Media; Jim Kutzner, PBS; Brian Markwalter, CEA; Sam Matheny, Capitol Broadcasting/WRAL; Andy Scott, NCTA; Robert Seidel, CBS; Dave Siegler, COX Media Group; Peter Symes, SMPTE; John Taylor, LG Electronics USA; and Yiyan Wu, IEEE.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

More News