Four TV Stations Land Prestigious Peabodys

What WTVF, WBZ, KING and WVUE did to win the coveted broadcasting award.

Peabody Hands Out A Record 46 Awards

Network honors go to ABC, PBS, CBS, ESPN, AMC, HBO, BBC America and Al Jazeera America. NBC’s Tom Brokaw receives a personal citation. The awards will be presented on May 19 at a luncheon ceremony in New York.

NAB Announces Service To America Winners

TV stations to be honored for their outstanding community service are KUSA Denver; KOBI Medford, Ore.; and WCVB Boston. The ceremony will be held in Washington on June 17.

Ira Glass To Host Peabody Awards

RTDNF Honors First Amendment Winners

On Wednesday evening, the Radio Television Digital News Foundation honored Gannett’s David Lougee, NBC News’ Lester Holt, ABC News’ Robin Sproul, CBS News’ Bill Plante and The Associated Press for their commitment to press freedoms at the 24th Annual First Amendment Awards Dinner in Washington.

Judd Apatow To Receive Icon Award At PaleyFest

NAB 2014

BFA To Honor Richard Wiley With Mays Award

The former FCC Chairman and dean of Washington communications bar, will receive the Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award from the Broadcasters Foundation of America during the NAB Show next month. The award honors an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy, and entrepreneurship.

Queen Latifah To Receive 2014 Matrix Award

CNN’s Wolf Blitzer Wins NPF Taishoff Award

Garry Marshall To Receive WGAW Laurel Award

David Simon Getting WGA East Career Award

Six TV Stations Take Home DuPont Awards

Among this year’s winners are KMGH Denver, KSHB Kansas City, WBEZ Chicago, WBZ Boston, WFAA Dallas and WVUE New Orleans, plus CBS, NBC, PBS, Univision and ESPN

‘Simpsons’ Simon Tapped For Writers Guild Honor

Saldana, Wilde, Ansari To Announce Globe Noms

Four Foreign Journalists Get Press Freedom Awards

NEW YORK (AP) — Four foreign journalists were honored with Press Freedom Awards Tuesday evening recognizing their work in the face of severe reprisals, including physical threats and imprisonment. The Committee to Protect Journalists’ 2013 International Press Freedom Awards were presented to Ecuador’s Janet Hinostroza, Egypt’s Bassem Youssef, Turkey’s Nedim Sener and Vietnam’s Nguyen Van […]

Bob Iger Receives UCLA Leadership Award

Sinclair Named TVN’s Station Group Of Year

The award from TVNewsCheck recognizes the company’s deep faith in broadcasting and its status as a technology leader through its championing a new broadcast standard and new uses for TV spectrum.

Lougee, Holt, Plante Among RTNDF Honorees

The recipients of the First Amendment Awards presented annually by the Radio Television Digital News Foundation are Gannett Co.’s David Lougee, NBC News’ Lester Holt, ABC News’ Robin Sproul and the Associated Press’ Gary Pruitt. In addition, CBS News’ Bill Plante will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. The ceremony takes place in Washington on March 12, 2014.

Emmys Add Spanish-Language Categories

Spanish-language programs will take on greater prominence at the Daytime Emmys through the introduction of new categories announced today. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences also said that the Sports Emmys and News & Documentary Emmys would also be adding awards honoring Spanish-language media.

Imagen Awards: ‘Castle’ Takes Best Primetime Show

Miller, Baldridge Win Top SBE Awards

DGA Adds Internet To Awards Categories

RTDNF Distinguished Service Award To Simpson

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) today announced that Carole Simpson is the winner of the 2013 Col. Barney Oldfield Distinguished Service Award, which honors an individual who, through their own efforts, has contributed to the growth and success of RTDNF. Simpson is a former member of the Radio Television Digital News Foundation Board […]

GAB To Honor Broadcasters On June 7

The Georgia Association of Broadcasters(GAB) holds its annual Honors Night Program on Friday, June 7. GAB will give its Georgian of the Year Award to Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed. Longâ€Âtime Columbus Broadcast Executive Lee Brantley, former Atlanta Braves Announcers Pete van Wieren and the late Skip Caray will be inducted into the GAB Hall of […]

Pelley Getting Fred Friendly 1st Amendment Award

12 TV Stations Take Home SDX Awards

Among the winners of this year’s Sigma Delta Chi Awards presented by the Society of Professional Journalists are WKYC Cleveland; WDSU New Orleans; KQED San Francisco; WVUE New Orleans; KING Seattle; KCCI Des Moines, Iowa; KXAS Dallas; KRGV Harlingen, Texas ; WNET New York; KNTV San Francisco; KTUU Anchorage; and WGBH Boston.

ABC’s Terry Moran Wins WHCA Award


Ohio Army National Guard Honors WKBN


WNBC’s Beck Wins 6th Sportscaster Of The Year

PGA Announces TV Award Nominations

Entry Time For Personal Finance Reporting Award

New Award To Honor Political Ad Reporting

The Cronkite/Jackson Prize will be awarded by the Annenberg Public Policy Center to recognize the best local and network reporting on the accuracy of political advertising.


MFM To Honor 13 At Annual Conference

When the MFM convenes in Las Vegas next week, we will be recognizing 13 individual for their extraordinary contributions to the association and the media industry. They are Neil Johnston, Cox Media; J. Michael Hines, Dow Lohnes; Larry Marcus, Marcus Strategies; Bonnie Krabbenhoft, Scripps Networks; Scott Jenkins, ESPN; Eugene Levin, Entercom Communications; Jennifer Crabtree, Local TV LLC; John Sanders, Bond & Pecaro; Robert Vonick, Walt Disney Co.; Gary Hoipkemier, Schurz  Communications; Craig Martell, Oracle; Francois McGillicuddy; and Demeta Peterbark, BET Networks.



The four commercial stations were among 38 winners announced today in a webcast from the University of Georgia, which administers the pretigious award for excellence in all forms of electronic media. Other commercial broadcast winners include CBS News, ABC News, Jeopardy! and NBC’s primetime Parks and Recreation.

Did You Win A Peabody This Year?

Find out by tuning into the Peabody webcast this morning at 10 a.m. ET. To do that, click here and register. The awards will be presented at a luncheon on May 21 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. Emceeing this year will be Peabody Award-winning actor Patrick Stewart.

AWM Announces 2012 Gracie Award Winners

The Alliance for Women in Media this week announced this year’s local, online, public and student winners of its annual Gracie Awards.

WICT Salutes 2010 With Chapter Awards