Perry Sook To Receive Golden Mike Award

The Nexstar Media Group executive will be honored by the Broadcasters Foundation of America at its annual fundraising gala in New York in March.

The Broadcasters Foundation of America is presenting Perry A. Sook – founder, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Nexstar Media Group — with its 2019 Golden Mike Award on March 6, 2019, at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. The annual black-tie gala is a major fundraiser for the Broadcasters Foundation, the only charity devoted exclusively to helping broadcasters in acute need.

“There is no greater testament to broadcasters’ commitment to public service than in times of emergency,” said Sook. “From hurricanes to wildfires, news teams across the country consistently brave extremely dangerous conditions to deliver lifesaving news coverage and information to local communities. Many of us at Nexstar have experienced firsthand the devastating effects and extensive damage caused by severe weather and other unforeseen events.

“That is why we are proud to support the important work of the Broadcasters Foundation in providing both one-time emergency aid and ongoing monthly grants to help our colleagues most in need. I would like to thank Dan Mason and the Broadcasters Foundation for this prestigious Golden Mike Award and the more than 9,000 Nexstar employees who share in this great honor, for the work they do each day to make a positive difference in their local communities.”

Dan Mason, chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation, said: “He is admired among his colleagues, and it is a privilege to honor him.”

Sook has more than 38 years of professional experience in the television and radio broadcasting industries, covering all facets of the business including ownership, mergers and acquisitions, management, sales, on-air talent and news. He founded Nexstar in 1996 with one television station in Scranton, Pa., and began building the foundation of what is today the second largest local broadcast television company in the United States, with 171 stations reaching 100 markets and annual revenue in excess of $2.3 billion.

Sook serves as chairman of the CBS Affiliates board, the Television Bureau of Advertising board of directors and The Ohio University Foundation board. He is also a board member of the National Association of Broadcasters and the Broadcasters Foundation of America.


Sook was named 2009 Broadcaster of the Year by Broadcasting and Cable and was among the honorees inducted into the 2014 B&C Hall of Fame. He was inducted to The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation’s 2016 Giants of Broadcasting and Electronic Arts and received The Media Institute’s 2016 American Horizon Award, recognizing his leadership, promoting the vitality and independence of American media.

The Broadcasters Foundation has distributed millions of dollars in aid to broadcasters who have lost their livelihood through a catastrophic event, debilitating disease or unforeseen tragedy.

Its annual Mike Award dinner attracts a who’s who of broadcast media executives and celebrities. The presenters and performers for this year’s event will be announced shortly. Previous recipients include Emily Barr, David Barrett, Michael Bloomberg, Bob Pittman, Gordon Smith, Jeff Smulyan and more. For information, or to reserve a seat or table, please contact the Broadcasters Foundation at 212-373-8250 or [email protected]

Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

2018bstyrevr says:

October 23, 2018 at 8:37 am

America is a “Great ” country..isnt it???

More News