Dana Walden Talks COVID, Embracing Failure, Promoting Diversity

The high-ranking Walt Disney Television chairman received a lifetime achievement award at the tail end of a 45-minute Fireside Chat that featured a wide-ranging discussion.

Library Of American Broadcasting Foundation Announces 2020 Board Of Directors

The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) elected the following individuals to its board of directors: Heidi Raphael, chief communications officer at Beasley Media Group, has been named co-chair of the LABF, effective immediately. She will join Hubbard Radio Chief Executive Officer Ginny Morris as co-chair of the organization. Pierre Bouvard, Gary Chapman, Erica Farber, […]

Altice USA No Longer Part Of NCTA


TVB Forward’s Focus: Revenue Generation

Top media executives to gather on Sept. 27 in New York for expert insights on driving sustainable business success plus demonstrations on how agencies, brands and political campaigns leverage linear TV’s unrivaled consumer reach, viewership, influence and trust to generate results.

RTDNA Urges Support Of Free Press Campaign

The Radio Television Digital News Association and its Voice of the First Amendment Task Force are calling on its more than 1,200 members and their broadcast and digital news outlets to join the Boston Globe and more than 100 other local newspapers across the country on Aug. 16 in a coordinated editorial response to attacks from President Trump on the media.

MFM Names 2018-2019 Officers, Board Members

The Media Financial Management Association (MFM) on Wednesday announced the 2018-19 officers and newly elected board members for the association and its BCCA subsidiary, the media industry’s credit association. Effective July 1, the officers for the MFM-BCCA board of directors are: Chair: Cindy Pekrul, SVP/deputy controller, Turner President: Mary M. Collins, president-CEO, MFM/BCCA Vice Chair/Conference Chair: Ralph Bender, CFO, […]


Notes From The Promax Station Summit In Vegas

Fran Wills New Local Media Consortium CEO

The former VP and general manager of the Cox Media Group starts at the local media consortium on July 16.

RTDNA Announces Kaleidoscope Award Winners

NABEF Announces Leadership Training Graduates

The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) announced the 2018 Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) class graduated this month following a 10-month Executive MBA-style program that teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning, operating and managing radio and television stations. The final participant roster can be found here. The program targets senior level broadcast executives who aspire to advance as group executives or station […]

RTDNA Joins Fight For Access To Migrant Detention Centers

Inside ‘Coachella For Journalists’

Journalists gathered in Orlando, Fla., last week to share best practices for investigative journalism and forge solidarity among news organizations.

KCRA, WREX Take Top Murrow Awards

In the television categories, overall excellence awards go to Hearst’s KCRA Sacramento, Calif., for large markets and Quincly Media’s WREX Rockford, Ill., for small markets. The national awards will be presented Oct. 22 at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York.


Barefoot Networks, Fox Networks To Demo The Power Of Programmable Forwarding

At the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) Network Technology Seminar (NTS) 2018, June 19-20, Barefoot Networks and Fox Networks, with support from the open networking experts at Stordis, will showcase the application of Barefoot’s 6.5Tb/s Tofino switch ASIC and P4 language for broadcast media network environments. Programmable forwarding plane technology is the ultimate development of software-defined networking (SDN), allowing complete flexibility […]

Broadcasters Foundation Names 3 To Board

The Broadcasters Foundation of America has elected Wendy McMahon, president of the ABC Owned Television Stations Group, and Charlie Weiss, publisher of Future B2B’s TV sector brands, to its board of directors, and named Dennis Lyle, president-CEO of the Illinois Broadcasters Association, an officer and vice president. The new directors and Lyle were voted in during the board meeting that took place in […]

NAB Board Exec. Committee Election Results

The National Association of Broadcasters’ executive committee elections took place at the NAB Board of Directors meeting on June 12-13. Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Media Group, was unanimously re-elected as NAB Joint Board chair.

SMPTE Unveils Innovation & Tech Survey Results

SMPTE, the organization whose standards work has supported a century of advances in entertainment technology, has released the results of the SMPTE 2018 Innovation and Technology in Media Entertainment Survey, part of the society’s ongoing work to provide insight into the critical issues that are transforming the media and entertainment (M&E) technology industry. The survey […]

Big 3 Anchors To Keynote Station Summit

CBS’s Jeff Glor, NBC’s Lester Holt and ABC’s David Muir will share the stage at PromaxBDA’s conference in Las Vegas on June 26.

Illinois Broadcasters Hall Of Fame Honors Plante

Debra Lee To Get PromaxBDA Lifetime Award

NBC’s Williams To Receive John F. Hogan Award

HFPA Announces Board Election Results

Broadcasters Foundation Sets Up Joseph Bilotta Memorial Fund

The Broadcasters Foundation of America has established the Joseph M. Bilotta Memorial Fund in honor of the veteran broadcaster who died June 1 in Connecticut from pancreatic cancer at the age of 69. The Memorial Fund will support the foundation’s mission of providing aid to past and present members of the broadcasting profession who have fallen on hard […]

NY Times Takes Top INMA Awards Honor


PromaxBDA Station Summit Focus: ‘Essentials’

ANA Acquires DMA: It’s All About The Data

The Association of National Advertisers (ANA) this morning announced it is acquiring the Data & Marketing Association (formerly the Direct Marketing Association) (DMA). Terms were not disclosed, but the ANA said the boards of each organization have approved the merger, which is subject to formal approval by the voting members of the DMA. The associations expect to complete their integration by July 1. the DMA will become an ANA division to be headed by current DMA CEO Tom Benton.


Who’s Running The Newsrooms?

RTDNA–Hofstra University’s annual survey examines the makeup of newsroom leadership, including news director ages by market size, length of tenure and more.

4As Rips Accenture’s Programmatic Business

The 4A’s is slamming Accenture’s entry into the ad buying business, saying the move raises conflict of interest concerns because the consultancy also audits client-agency relationships and runs agency reviews for clients.

ATSC Honors Triveni Digital’s Mark Corl

Bill Whitaker To Receive Paul White Award

Whitaker, a correspondent on the CBS News program 60 Minutes, will be presented with this year’s Paul White Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association on Friday, Sept. 28, in Baltimore.